top of page

A Country Christmas


A view from the farm. Taken by my aunt from her front door on our surprise snowfall last weekend.

I am part of a large family and I was lucky enough to grow up right next door to some of them. Christmas morning came extra early at our house because as soon as we unwrapped the presents under our own tree we headed next door to my grandparents house. My cousin and her parents would be there as well. Some years it was even bigger with other extended family popping in. We had a giant breakfast feast, exchanged more gifts and then let everyone know what Santa brought us at our own home. It's a tradition that we still keep today and has made Christmas synonymous with breakfast for me.

We often hoped for a White Christmas but honestly there isn't one I can actually remember. According to weather reports we've never had a true "White Christmas" but flurries did appear a few times in my life on Christmas morning (2010, 1995, 1993 & 1990). I can remember more than one Christmas that required wearing short sleeves because of the high temperatures. Never the less we all gathered together and pretended it was really cold enough to cozy up by the fireplace and wear fuzzy socks. I can remember some Christmas presents throughout the years, but more than anything I remember the time spent together everyone under one roof. Truth be told that wasn't exactly a rare occurrence in those days, most of my family lived between 5 and 30 minutes of each other. There was some extended family in other states but they were always there in spirit. Even so there was something about the time spent together at Christmas that was more magical than the rest. Although we shared breakfast together it didn't stop when the meal was through, it's a day we never wanted to end. Evenings were, and still are, filled with dominoes, board games and movie watching, in a house nearly busting at the seams with people.

This was taken when it snowed at the farm for a few hours. Meanwhile in the city I just got freezing rain.

In contrast to Christmas in the city there aren't multiple evenings filled with events that require you to leave home. Christmas celebrations are very intimate in the comfort of each others homes. You may leave the house to "tour" the Christmas light displays in your town but these aren't professional and there is no fee for viewing. There is no official Christmas Tree Lighting, only the unveiling you do at home for your family and friends. More than once I got to participate in the Christmas Parade (one year I can remember in particular I was a snowman) which is the only official Christmas event in our small town. A country Christmas is very different from the city, although I'm sure you can find carolers at both. Neither is less magical than the other and each are filled with Christmas Cheer. I may live in the city now but I still make sure to make it back to the country by Christmas Eve. Some people may enjoy a quiet Christmas, our gatherings are anything but quiet and that's just the way I like it.

How do you celebrate Christmas?

bottom of page