top of page

Christmas in the City

Christmas season is officially upon us and I am more than ready to deck the halls. There is something to be said about experiencing Christmas in the city. Growing up I saw it from a distance driving through Birmingham. Every year the Regions Center building creates a spectacular window display for everyone to enjoy. The Alabama Theater also located in Birmingham has a tradition of showing Christmas movies in December, they show everything from Miracle of 34th Street to The Muppet's Christmas Carol.

While I have "lived" in Montgomery since 2009 it has only been in recent years that I have really taken advantage of it's Christmas festivities. As a student I would head back to the farm in early December and journey back to the city after the New Year. After graduation my first job was in retail so Christmas wasn't exactly a "joyful" time. When I wasn't working I enjoyed Christmas in the comfort of my own apartment and didn't really want to interact with other members of the public. If you've worked in retail during a holiday season you know exactly how I felt. It's hard to believe I never even saw the magnificent tree in front of the state capital until two years ago when we took our engagement pictures.

Montgomery offers so many different ways to enjoy and experience the Christmas holiday's I can't believe it took me nearly 5 years to embrace them. We are home to the Alabama Shakespeare Festival which, is self-described as "the largest professional, producing theatre in Alabama and one of the largest Shakespeare festivals in the world." They produce around 10 shows a season with an annual showing of A Christmas Carol. (I've heard through the grapevine of social media that it will be retired after this year, so get your tickets now if you haven't already!) ASF also hosts a Christmas Tree Lighting ceremony but if you miss it, like I did, you can always attend the official lighting of the Capital City's Christmas Tree located across from city hall. This year the tree was a 35 feet tall red cedar that was locally harvested and covered in 50,000 LED lights (so says the Mayor). The lighting ceremony included a performance by the Montgomery Chorale and an appearance from Santa. The tree and it's surrounding village will be on display for the rest of the Holiday season, swing by and check it out if you're in the city.

There are so many things Montgomery has to offer that you simple can't do them all! However you celebrate Christmas there is sure to be something you will enjoy. That is the beauty of Christmas in the city there is no shortage of Christmas cheer! If you love seeing festive light displays you can see them at The Christmas Lights Festival at the Montgomery Zoo. If you enjoy classical Christmas, as mentioned earlier you can see A Christmas Carol at ASF, or The Nutcracker presented by the Alabama River Region Ballet. Holidays on the Harriott II allows you to enjoy a Holiday meal on the river cruise. If you're a runner you can participate in the always popular Jingle Bell Run, hosted by Huntingdon College and funding the Arthritis Foundation. There are multiple holiday pop-up shops that feature local artists. I have only mentioned a handful of things and I could go one and on but I won't. Instead I will tell you what I am most looking forward to this Christmas season.

What are you most looking forward to this Christmas season?

bottom of page