top of page

IT'S F[ALL] IN THE DETAILS


What do I look forward to most in Fall? Dropping temperatures, changing leaves, cozy sweaters...oh wait. I live in Alabama, it's October and we still have 90 degree days. Just last week the thermostat in my car read 101 when I was leaving work at 5:00 pm. Every year I wish for a "real fall" but I know that would also come with a "real winter" and I'm not sure I could ever really be prepared for that. So for now I'll have to settle for that slight crisp in the air as I leave for work in the morning. Fall is a fantasy here, one we work very hard to create from our wardrobes to the wreaths on our door. There are some parts of Alabama that experience the transition of leaves from green to those wonderful shades of gold and red. But I live too far south for that, we just wake up one day and they're dead on the ground, hardly any transition to speak of. Luckily there's a plethora of craft stores that carry artificial leaves in every shade.

Photo Credit: Cheree Melton (she's my cousin & also a doctor, her talent level is out of this world.

Our artificial fall doesn't stop with craft leaves. We create our own "transition" with our wardrobes. Once October hits (or September for some) we pull out our plaids, and light weight cardigans. The bootie trend of the last few years has been a lifesaver in the south. We can get the fall look without wearing full boots when it's still uncomfortably warm outside. For perspective, it was 82 degrees on Christmas day last year.

Pumpkins however are in abundance! We can find them at the local farmer's market, take a trip to an actual pumpkin patch (Dreamfield Farm's is a personal favorite of mine) or pick one up at your favorite grocery store. We've found ways to keep them from wilting under the blazing sun. Everything from keeping them in the shade to spraying them with vinegar after we've turned them into Jack-O-Lanterns.

I prefer the pumpkin patch method and the best is Dreamfield Farms in tiny Fitzpatrick, AL. Nearly an hour drive, but more than worth it. You lose cell service about 30 minutes before you arrive at the farm and don't trust a GPS to get you there. You'll have to do it the old fashioned way, following hand made signs along the highway. This day was a hot one! We more than broke a sweat combing through that pumpkin patch looking for the perfect one.

P.S. That little white pumpkin you see, is still alive today nearly 365 days after it was "picked." It has a prominent spot on my mantel this year, compete with a burlap bow on the stem.

bottom of page